Hornick Endowed Lecture Series

The 2020 Spring Hornick lecture is cancelled due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Please read the president's message here.

Dr. Newton Hornick was a private practice Pittsburgh radiologist from 1947 until his retirement in 1980. Upon his death, his two sons, Robert and Joe, created an endowed fund in honor both of their parents, Newton and Julia (a Pittsburgh nurse). This fund sustains an annual lectureship, with an emphasis on governmental and socioeconomic impact on radiology practice and has continued since its inception in 1986.

Dr. Hornick was a graduate of Catawaba College and Duke University School of Medicine.
 For many years he served as the head of radiology at Suburban General Hospital. He was a past president of the Pittsburgh Roentgen Society and the Pennsylvania Radiological Society (PRS). He was a fellow of the American College of Radiology (ACR) and served on its Board of Chancellors. He held various administrative roles in the ACR including vice president (1978-79), secretary and treasurer. He was a leader in the radiology community who foresaw the need for radiologists to commit themselves to organized medicine and socioeconomic issues confronting radiology practice.

Support the Hornick Endowed Lecture Series

Recent Hornick Lecturers

 April, 2019 William W. Mayo-Smith, MD

Professor and Vice Chair, Brigham and Women's Hospital
 May, 2018 Eliot Siegel, MD

Professor and Vice Chair, University of Maryland
 May, 2017  Puneet Bhargava, MD

Associate Professor, University of Washington
 May, 2016  Mark Homer, MD, FACR

Professor of Radiology Emeritus, Tufts University
 May, 2015 Rasu Shrestha, MD

Chief Innovation Officer, UPMC
 March, 2014 Richard Gunderman, MD, PhD

Chancellors Professor of Radiology, Indiana University
 April, 2013 Bernard Rizza, Esq.

Medical Malpractice Attorney, Freshman & Rizza, P.C., 
 March, 2012 Congressman Jason Altmire

U.S. Representative for PA's 4th District 2007-2013
 February, 2011 Jonathan Berlin, MD, MBA

Radiologist, NorthShore University Health System
 April, 2009 Frank J. Lexa, MD, MBA

Radiologist & Radiology Residency Program Director,  Drexel University
 April, 2008 Carey Vinson, MD, MPM

Vice President for Quality and Medical Performance Management, Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield
 March, 2007 Tim Farrell, MD

Staff Radiologist, Peninsula Radiology